Friday, 18 November 2011

Different Types of Vegetarian

 Vegetarians, generally speaking, are people who choose not to eat meat, for a number of possible reasons (ethical, religious, political, health, environmental, cultural, aesthetic, economic and so on).

There are many different sub-catergories of vegetarians such as:
  •  Ovro-Vegetarians-they choose to eat eggs but not dairy products.
  • Lacto-Vegetarians-they choose to eat dairy products but not eggs.
  • Vegans- their diet excludes all animal products including eggs, dairy and honey and may also exclude any products tested on animals, or any clothing from animals.
  • Raw Vegans-their includes only fresh and uncooked fruit, nuts, seeds, and vegetables. Vegetables can only be cooked up to a certain temperature.
  • Fruitarians-their diet permits only fruit, nuts, seeds, and other plant matter that can be gathered without harming the plant.
  • Buddhist Vegetarians-their diet excludes all animal products as well as vegetables in the allium family (onion, garlic, scallions, leeks, or shallots).
  • Jainist Vegetarians-their diet includes dairy but excludes eggs and honey, as well as root vegetables. 
There are also semi-vegetarians that define 'meat' as only the flesh of mammals so they may include fish or poultry in their diet. There is some debate amongst vegetarians as to whether these forms constitute vegetarianism at all.
  • Pescetarians- include fish in their diet but no red meat or poultry.
  • Pollotarians-eat poultry but not meat or fish. 
  • Pollo-pescetarians-eat only white meat (poultry and fish) but no red meat.

    1 comment:

    1. Great list! My son has been dabbling with a vegan lifestyle his first year at college. It's tough to make it work, but he's done great, feels great, and looks great! :)